Friday, December 1, 2023

Sh7.3 million prize and other millions Kipchoge is set to receive for winning Berlin Marathon

Legendary Kenyan marathoner Eliud Kipchoge, on Sunday, September 24, 2023, stunned the world after winning his fifth Berlin Marathon title in Germany.

Kipchoge finished the 42-kilometer race in  2:02:42, which was just 1 minute and 33 seconds away from his own record of 2:01:09 he set in Berlin in 2022.

Although he failed to break the competition’s record, he made a remarkable achievement as he recorded a fifth winning in the Berlin Marathon.

He is set to walk away with over Sh7 million for his achievement. A spot check of the prize money winners of the marathon will take home established that Kipchoge will pocket  Sh7.3 million ($50,000), which is the prize money for winners in both male and female races.

The 38-year-old is also expected to receive millions of cash from President William Ruto.  He, however, missed the Sh5 million reward the Head of State promised to every athlete who breaks a record.

Inside Eliud Kipchoge’s Sh140K Shoe Collection

Faith Kipyegon, who set two records, received Sh 5 million for one record and a new house worth Sh 6 Million for the other.

“It will be the same for the other world-beaters and world record-breakers that will come after Faith.” Ruto pledged.

Kipchoge also lost Sh4.3 million in bonuses allocated for athletes who supersede his record time of 2:01:09. He is, however, set to receive more from sponsorship deals.

Speaking after the race, Kipchoge revealed failing to break the record was a lesson to him ahead of the 2024 Olympic Games in Paris, France.

“I was expecting to do the same, but that’s not how it happened, and that’s the way sport is. Every race is a learning lesson. I always learn from every race and every victory.’’

“I’m very happy to win for the fifth time in Berlin. And I shall use these lessons in my preparation for the Olympics.’’ He said.

Other Kenyans who emerged victorious in the race include Vincent Kipkemoi, who came second at 2:03:13, Ronald Korir (4) (2:04:22), Amos Kipruto (7) (2:04:49), Philemon Kiplimo (8) (2:04:56) and Boniface Kiplimo (10) 2:05:05.

Connect With Us


Latest Stories

Related Stories